All simmered up!

I don’t know about you, but I am SO over this heat and ready for fall!  One of my favorite things about Autumn is fragrance.
But are there any alternatives available if  you don’t like or can’t use synthetic scents?

 

I originally searched out nature based scents for my Candles because I know many people (like my daughter Bella) are allergic to some synthetic fragrances. (We offer naturally fragranced candle choices if you have the same sensitivities).

But did you know you can simmer things to make your house smell divine and all the ingredients you need may be in your kitchen right now?  It’s fun, and the list is as only limited by your imagination!

Here is our current favorite: a pot of water simmering, 2-3 lemons, a handful of rosemary from the garden and 2 capfuls (sometimes more if Bella has anything to say about it) of vanilla extract.

simmering home fragrance

There are many ways to release the fragrance.  You can simmer it in a saucepan like I did (just be sure to keep an eye on the water level so it does not run dry and burn…that does NOT smell good). You can also pour all the ingredients into a crock pot to slowly simmer all day adding water as needed.


Some  ingredient ideas are:

  • Oranges
  • Limes
  • Cinnamon Sticks
  • Clove (whole)
  • Mint leaves
  • Cilantro
  • Basil
  • Vanilla
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • Nutmeg
  • Anise
  • Thyme
  • Pine needles

The possibilities are endless.

How does fragrance affect your mood?

The Health Benefits of Cinnamon.

Spice for your Spirit.

Happy Blending!

Love, Laughter & Candlelight!

One response to “All simmered up!

  • Joyce Greeson

    Scented candles have always been my thing around the house, but I’ll definitely try this tip you shared! Simmering scent around the house would be fun, especially for my kids as well. Thank you so much! Limes and vanillas are a great match, I might say…

Leave a Reply

