Daily Archives: October 17, 2011

How to make my non recipe Ceviche…❥

★Ceviche is the coastal regions of Central and Southern America’s version of Sushi. (Although I made my Ceviche with fully cooked fish…)

I tend to approach cooking like my grandmother’s did…recipes are only “guidelines” so feel free to tweak this to your tastes.

How did I make mine?

  • 1 lb. fresh but fully cooked tiny shrimp,
  • 8 oz. crab meat-fresh is best, but canned is fine too.

(traditional Ceviche calls for any raw local FRESH fish thinly sliced and “cooked” in the citrus juice, but not many in my household do raw fish so I went with cooked instead).

  • 2 finely chopped tomatoes
  • 1 finely chopped red onion
  • 1 sour orange juiced
  • 3 limes juiced
  • 1 large handful organic chopped cilantro
  • 2 organic carrots finely diced
  • 2 fresh avocados finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeno finely diced
  • lime and extra avocado to garnish.
  • 2 cloves of fresh garlic, diced
Combine all ingredients in a serving bowl, I added salt, fresh cracked pepper and a bit of Mesquite seasoning to taste.
Serve with salted baked tortilla chips as a dip.  It is also good served on a bed of spinach as a tostada…or with shredded cabbage as fish tacos.
You can substitute any fish you like, but remember- fresh and local is best!
Mangia bene!
Love, Laughter & Candlelight,